Keen-Wah (Quinoa)

Part of the road to fitness (it’s really more like an intercontinental freeway), is diet.  When you start, your PT (physical torturer) sets you up with a diet plan, which if you’re anything like me, you promptly ignore, because hey, I eat pretty healthy.  Or so I thought.  Anyway, one of the things Rich recommended was this product called Quinoa (pronounced Keen-Wah).  I know you can get it at Save-On or Nutter’s – don’t know where else.   It’s kind of like rice, but not, kind of like barley, but not, and kind of like a legume, but not.  Anyway, look it up – it’s not a brand name – I’m not selling snake oil here folks.  Anyway, Rich was pushing this as being really super healthy.  So I promptly ignored him.  Then one day my beautiful bride comes home with this crap that she tried at our daughters & said she really enjoyed.  So what the hell eh, let’s give it a shot.  Word of caution, it is very very bland if you just cook it in salted water.  But let me tell you, if you cook it in chicken broth (Campbell’s – comes in a box, like my wine) & add a little green onion, WOW.  What an absolutely wonderful taste sensation.  Plus it’s super healthy – go look it up – I’ve got no time for healthy hints.   Now it comes in different colours, which I think actually produce different flavours.  So far the tri-colour is my favourite, but I’m officially open to new flavours of this stuff.  Anyway, instead of my usual bitchin’ ‘n moanin’ I thought I’d share this little tidbit with y’all.  Enjoy.

3 comments on “Keen-Wah (Quinoa)

  1. Maggie says:

    Quinoa is especially great for vegetarians because it’s a complete protein (generally unheard of in the plant world). I usually toss it with fresh veggies in the summer, or roasted in the winter, and a vinaigrette of some sort. I know here in the States you can find it at Costco (warehouse store), or in bulk sections at the types of grocery stores that have bulk sections.

    • Thanx Maggie. All recipes are gratefully accepted. Delicious stuff.

      • Maggie says:

        I never use recipes, so I’m useless there. I just cook the quinoa in big batches, so it’s ready to use (I keep it in jars in the fridge), and then mix it with the veggies till it looks right, and add vinaigrette till it tastes good! Right now, you might try sweet potatoes, broccoli, carrots, some chopped greens, and some garlic and onion.

Give me your two bits worth!

